Apple raisin cinnamon rolls

Standard

P1070695

The other day I had a raisin cinnamon roll at a cafe near our place. It was so fluffy and rich and tasty and sweet. That made me crave cinnamon rolls for a little while. I wanted to make them by myself and tried to copy their yummy rolls. I used my brioche dough for these rolls. Lots of butter and milk and eggs. Yeah, it’s rich. But don’t worry, I am not going to eat them all by myself and not going to make this that often. So it’s ok….

I also added diced apples with raisins just because I had a lot of apples left in the kitchen.

Oh, they turned out to be super yummy rolls! Rich but not too heavy and sweet but just sweet enough for my taste!

P1070686

Apple raisin cinnamon rolls  (makes 9 rolls)

250g of High grade/ Strong flour

125g of Wild yeast starter (leaven) – recipe here

4g of Salt

25g of Brown sugar

162g of Milk plus 1 Egg

75g of Unsalted butter

Fillings

1 Apple (chopped in small dice)

Some dry raisins (soaked in hot water for 10 min, drained)

some softened butter to spread

some Cinnamon powder and sugar to sprinkle

some sliced almonds

P1070689

This post is submitted to YeastSpotting.

About Mamiko

My name is Mamiko, I am Japanese, wife of a French-Australian artist and mother of 2 little girls who are full of life and energy. Through my husband’s work we have ended up travelling and moving around an awful lot. I have had to give up on my profession of choice, magazine editor, but in doing so I have had some time to explore different avenues and have been focusing a lot on food – I loooove eating! I have worked in a few restaurants since leaving Japan so I guess it was a bit of a natural progression. My English is far from perfect so you'll have to bare with me while I blog about my experiments with food. Thanks for taking an interest and I hope you'll find this journey as exciting as it is for me!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

