Baguette training

P1060538m

French baguette!

I love this bread so much, when we were in France I just loooooved eating baguettes straight after buying from the local bakery. Still warm, crispy crust and aroma of the wheat. Yummm!

I don’t think I would try to bake it myself if we were living in France. I know I could never beat a good bakery there. Though I can get a good baguette here in Wellington, it takes more of an effort to get one. (not nearby) Also I discovered a lot of baking bloggers in Japan baking fantastic looking baguettes at home! So I thought I’d give it a try…

P1060532

P1060539m

This is my fifth attempt.  

Finally I’ve got a decent looking baguette!

The first few times, they weren’t really baguettes, more of a long bread. The coupé (the score) didn’t open and the crumb didn’t have big air holes. The taste was alright but my husband just said “it’s yummy, what’s this bread?”. Aaaarrrgg! So I did a fair bit of research, then I found a few tips on how to bake a baguette. I am thinking of making a page on my blog about the basic techniques and tips that I found. So please wait for a moment. (It takes time to write my blog in English! but I have to as it’s a part of my English learning.)

Anyways this is the recipe of a simple baguette made with my wild yeast starter. It’s not easy-peasy. But imagine taking the baguettes out of the oven and listening to the crackling sound that the bread makes, and the smell… It’s worth it!

Baguette [makes 2]

250 g  of  High grade/Strong flour

50 g  of  Raisin wild yeast starter (recipe is here)  [20%]

5 g  of  Salt  [1.8%]

187 g  of  Lukewarm water  [75%]

Method

  1. Mix all the ingredients in a large bowl except salt, mix with a card or a fork until just combined. Cover with cling film(*) and let it rest for 15 min.
  2. Add salt and knead the dough on the work surface for 5 min. Then put it back in the bowl and cover with cling film. (the dough should be quite sticky. It’s easy to use a card to handle the dough)
  3. Let it rest in a warm place for 30 min. 
  4. Using a rubber spatula fold the dough in half 8 times, each time changing the angle. (Punch)
  5. Repeat step 4 twice (rest 30 min in between)
  6. Let it rise until the dough doubles in volume. (I put the dough in the fridge overnight. 8h)
  7. Halve the dough on a dusted work surface. Fold in half and cover with a wet tea towel and let it rest for 20min.  (Bench time)
  8. Shape the dough gently into a baguette shape. ( I will make a page for some tips!)
  9. Let it rise in a warm place until it becomes bit bigger. (1-2h)  * Do not let it dry!)
  10. Preheat the oven at 300 ℃, 20 min before finishing a final rise
  11. Score a few lines diagonal. (Coupé)
  12. Spray a fine mist of water on the dough.
  13. Put the dough in the oven and turn the oven off for 5 min, then turn it  back on at 190℃. Bake it for another 15 min.

ENJOY!

 

P1060544

2 thoughts on “Baguette training

Leave a Reply

