Wild Raisins Yeast – photos

P1070395

I made a new batch of wild yeast using raisins and this time I didn’t forget to take some photos! I wrote how to make wild yeast starter in a previous post “Organic Prune Yeast”  but I didn’t have pictures. I think the photos are really helpful for those of you who have never made wild yeast – I was really unsure when I made wild yeast for the first time.

Raisins are the easiest dry fruits to make wild yeast from. But make sure you have “non oil-coated” raisins. You can check at the back of your raisins package. If it says “sunflower oil” (or any kind of oil) on the ingredients list, that’s oil coated. If you can not find non-oil coated raisins, you can use other fruits. You can also use fresh fruit (ex. apple, pear etc) – it’s a bit more difficult but you can try. Just add a tea spoon of honey or sugar when you use fresh fruit.

Day 1  :  Add 240g of lukewarm water and 80g of raisins (without oil coating nor preservatives) [water 3: fruits 1]* in a sterilized glass jar. Leave it in a warm place for 3 to 10 days (it depends on ambient temperature), shaking it a little and opening the lid every day at the same time. I do it in the morning. (I check the smell as well.)

* I used to put (raisins 3: water 1) by mistake and now I correct it. I apologise to those of  you who tried to make this raisins yeast with old post!!

P1070299

Day 2 :  Raisins start float a little. Smell hasn’t changed much.

P1070370

Day 3 : Half of the raisins are floating. It smells sweet. (If it smells unpleasant, that’s bad. The smell should never be unpleasant.)

P1070306

Day 4 : When you shake the jar and open it, it will pop or fizz as you let out some of the gas, like when you open a beer. Lots of small bubbles. Smell like sweet wine. Yeast has developed! I keep it out for one more day.

P1070397 P1070391

Day 5 : Without shaking the jar, you can see all the rasins are floating on the water. It’s ready to use. You can keep this in the fridge for up to one or two months.

P1070393 P1070395m1

Next time I will post lots of photos showing how to make the starter (leaven) from this liquid yeast.

I hope you find this helpful!

5 thoughts on “Wild Raisins Yeast – photos

    • Thanks for your comment. It doesn’t have strong taste of the yeast when you bake bread. although I think it taste nicer. My family doesn’t notice the different sometime they just say “yummy!”. But I think you can smell different when you are making dough, it smells so nice! Many japanese people who love making bread with wild yeast, (who also use many different fruits) they can smell the difference. “Mango yeast is fruity, blueberry yeast is great for blueberry bagels.. etc”

      I mostly use “starter” for baking bread. You can use this liquid yeast straight away too, but it takes longer to rise. I will post how to make “starter” soon!!

  1. Mitchel says:

    hello , its been 7 days and its quite cold in the house would that effect the amount of time it takes to ferment the raisins?

    • Thanks for your comment. Yes it does! Try to place the jar with raisins near your heater (if you are using it). It will take longer with cold environment but it will come! Just don’t forget to shake the jar once a day and check the smell. Hope you will have lovely wild yeast soon.

Leave a Reply

