Natural Yeast Starter – photos

P1070950-2

P1070910

Finally I took photos! There we go, this is how I make starter using my previous liquid yeast.

Day 1 :  Sterilise a glass jar (I use a coffee plunger glass) by slowly pouring some boiling water from the edge.  Mix 120g of whole meal four and 100g of liquid yeast in a bowl and put it in the jar.

P1070828   P1070831

Cover with cling wrap and leave it in a warm place until it doubles up. (approximately 5-6h depending on the ambient temperature)

5-6 hours later ↓

P1070833-2

Once it doubles in volume, put it in the fridge till the next day.

Day 2 : Take the starter into a clean bowl, add 150g of high grade/strong flour and 80g of lukewarm water and mix it by hand until just combined. (no need to knead. It’s ok if it’s still a little bit powdery and lumpy.)  Put the starter mixture back in the jar and leave it covered in a warm place until it doubles up.

P1070848

5-6 hours later ↓

P1070861

When it doubles in volume, put it in the fridge till the next day.

Day 3 : Put the starter into a clean bowl, add 50g of high grade/strong flour and 25g of lukewarm water (flour 2: water 1) and mix it by hand until just combined. (no need to knead. It’s ok if it’s still a little bit powdery and lumpy.) Put the starter mixture back in the jar and leave it covered in a warm place until it doubles up.

P1070880  P1070881

5 hours later ↓

P1070878

When it doubles up in volume, put it in the fridge till the next day.

Voila!! The starter develops more in the fridge and is ready to use!

P1070912

You can keep feeding this starter and keep it going for a couple of months. Repeat the day 3 process every 2-3 days or when using the starter to make bread.

My little helper – I always use a whiteboard marker to mark the glass jar. It’s much easier to see how much the starter has developed. Very useful item for my bread making. 😀

P1070885

6 thoughts on “Natural Yeast Starter – photos

  1. Fantastic idea of using a whiteboard marker! I’ll have to try that with “Bertie”. I’ve seen sourdough starters where people use fruit in them and this looks to be a similar thing. Once it gets going do you use it as you would for sourdough?

    • Thanks for your comment! Yes, once the starter gets going, you can use just like sourdough starter. Most of the time, I use 30% of starter in my bread dough. (20% to 40%, depending on how active or new your stater is. (new starter=more active=20%) The starter become sticky as it gets old. I keep them about a month. 🙂

  2. Julie says:

    Can I take a portion of this yeast starter to make homemade bread? Then keep feeding the remainder? I know this sounds like a dumb question. I have never done it this way before. My grandmother always cheated with store bought yeast and mixing it. I’m not sure how to make a full size pan say 11x 8 baking pan full of rolls with this starter.

    • Thanks for your comment! Yes You can use this yeast starter to make homemade bread. and yes, you can keep feeding the reminder to keep going. I’m not sure the size of your pan. (is it inch? or cm?) Anyhow if you know the amount of flour you are going to use for your pan, then that’s easy. You can use 30% of this natural yeast starter to your flour. say if you use 500g of flour in total then you use 150g of this natural yeast starter. You can replace normal store bought yeast to this natural yeast starter but it takes more long time to raise than instant dry yeast.
      Hope this will help.. thanks!

      • Julie says:

        Yes, the pan is in inches. 8 x 11 inches. When I use to make homemade bread I use approximately 6 to 7 cups of flour.

        Also, I’m unsure what you mean by whole meal floor vs. Strong flour. I usually use presifted flour (all purpose). Can you please explain the difference?

      • Julie says:

        Thank you for your quick response. I am from the U.S. and I’m confused as to the flour strengths you speak of. I’m assuming strong flour is the all purpose flour we have here, but I’m unsure of the whole meal flour you speak of. I’ve already made the liquid yeast but I’m frozen in this part. Please excuse my ignorance as I am a green in making this.

Leave a Reply

