Bagels bagels bagels!!

P1080052

Bagels! Yes I love them. I really do. But I haven’t made them in a while. Maybe it’s because of the many steps involved. But once you start it’s actually not that bad and I do enjoy it. And with bagels you can really enjoy experimenting, playing around with the dough and fillings and toppings.

This time I made simple ones for sandwiches. Whole meal bagels with LSA powder (Linseeds, Sunflower seeds, Almonds). I was going to put some linseeds on top but I completely forgot. I do this sometimes, completely forgetting to sprinkle the toppings.  After boiling the bagels, you need to be quick to put them in the oven. So after boiling them, all I am thinking about is putting them in the oven… quite literally! You could also say I am simply forgetful. 🙂

P1080055

This time I made sandwiches with some prosciutto, avocado and carrot salad. The carrot salad gives you crunchiness and freshness and cheering colour to your sandwiches.

P1080062

Also, I made chocolate bagels with cranberries! These are mini size so I could have two  for snacks. Maybe I should have rolled the chocolate chips inside, instead of mixing it with the dough. I was worried when I was boiling them that the chocolate might stick out and melt, but it was ok. The cranberries worked better than I expected. I love a bit of sourness in sweets. For these, I used the apple yeast which I blogged about in the previous post! It did a great job. I am not sure I could taste the apple though.

P1080045

P1080060

<Bagels with LSA>

210g of High grade/ Strong flour

30g of Whole meal flour

10g of LSA (linseeds, Sunflower seeds, Almond powder)

3g of Salt

8g of Honey

80g of  wild yeast starter   [30%]

50g of lukewarm water and 80g of soy milk  [52%]

Method :

  • Mix all the ingredients and knead well until it’s smooth.
  • Let the dough rise in a warm place until it nearly doubles. (You can skip this process if you wish to get firm bagels, I sometime skip this when I eat bagels straight from the oven)
  • Divide the dough in four (mini-size six) and rest them for 20 min under cover.
  • Shape the dough into bagel shapes. Let them rise in a warm place for 1.5 hours. Make sure they are covered to prevent them from drying up.
  • Preheat the oven at 190℃.
  • Boil 2L of water in a wide pan or frying pan with a teaspoon of sugar or honey. (once boiling, turn the fire down to medium heat, and bring the water down to a simmer)
  • Boil the bagels upside down for 30 seconds then turn them over, for another 30 seconds.
  • Quickly place them on the baking sheets and put them in the oven. (When you have topping, sprinkle on top)  Bake it for 18 min at 190℃.

<Chocolate and Cranberries bagels>

240g of High grade/ Strong flour

10g of unsweetened cocoa powder

15g of brown suger

50g of lukewarm water and 80g of soy milk  [52%]

80g of  wild yeast starter   [30%]

Method : the same as the bagels with LSA

This post is submitted to YeastSpotting.

Leave a Reply

