Wild yeast raisin mountain loaf with molasses

P1070974

I haven’t had time to update my blog in a while as all my time was taken up with all the things happening back in Japan, with the elections, the Olympics and other bad news…

Now I need something to cheer me up so I am back to my blog and baking!

First, I wanted to share this recipe – it’s my favourite raisin bread.

P1070983

I used molasses instead of sugar for this bread as it gives you a really nice dark colour, extra richness and depth of flavour.

A generous knob of cultured butter melting on top of a thick slice of this raisin bread is just heavenly. It smells gorgeous when toasted!

Raisin loaf with molasses

450g of high grade/strong flour

8g of salt

a little bit of cinnamon, nutmeg and clove powder

9g (1 tbsp) of powdered milk

180g of wild yeast starter  [40%]

37g of molasses [8.2%]

150g of milk *

100g of almond milk *

55g of water *

*liquid is 305g in total  [68%] you can replace almond milk with any kind of milk

45 g of unsalted butter [10%]

180g of raisins (soak in warm water for 10 min and drained)

Method

  • Put all the ingredients in a large bowl except for the butter and the raisins. Knead for 15 min.
  • Add the butter. Knead again until the dough becomes shiny. (app. 5-10 min)
  • Add the raisins. Combine them well into the dough.
  • Cover the dough with cling film or a wet tea towel and let it rise in a warm place for about 4 hours. (until it doubles in size)
  • Divide the dough into three. Shape it into balls.  Rest the balls for 15 min covered with cling film or a wet tea towel.
  • Shape each ball and put it in a loaf tin. (I’m sorry I can’t explain well without the photos! Search “how to shape mountain loaf” and you can find a lot of web sites explaining.)
  • Let it rise in a warm place for 1.5- 2h until the dough fills 80% of the tin.
  • Preheat the oven to 200℃, 20 min before finishing the final rise.
  • Spray water on the dough generously and bake it in the oven at 190℃ for 30-35min. (In the last 15 min, you might need to put foil on top if the top starts to get too dark)
5 thoughts on “Wild yeast raisin mountain loaf with molasses

  1. Lisa says:

    What a lovely blog Mamiko. I ‘ve recently just started baking with yeast water and was pleasantly surprised how strong the yeast is in making bread.
    Wanted to ask, without a digital scale , any idea how to get a cup conversion for this? Always wondered what the yeast water equivalent for say….1 teas spoon / table spoon of yeast would be. Any ideas?

    • Hi Lisa, Thank you for your comment! I am not sure how to get a cup conversion for this right now. I always use bakers percent, but I will try to see next time I make it. Also I am not sure 1 tsp or tbsp dry yeast equivalent for how much yeast water… When I use yeast water to make bread, I put 20% of yeast water. So if you use 500g of flour, yeast water will be 100g, then I reduce 100g of the other liquid (water)in the recipe. (so total amount of liquid stays the same) If you have strong yeast water, you can use less. You can play around to see how it works! If you don’t put enough yeast water, you just need to wait longer to develop! Just don’t forget to reduce the liquid (water) when you use yeast water.

  2. Jmk says:

    I’m curious why you use dairy milk plus almond milk plus milk powder (rather than just one)? What different qualities does each provide?

    • Hi, Thanks for the comment. You’re right. It doesn’t really matter I think. I didn’t have enough dairy milk so I added almond milk. As it said in the blog, you can replace it with any kind of milk. about milk powder , I used it because it’s original recipe was using daily milk and powder milk. But yes again, you can use only one kind for all the liquid.

Leave a Reply

